SectorWire
SearchGet the daily briefing
Menu

Alberta opens iGaming market with nearly 50 registered operators

Licences & markets

Alberta’s commercial iGaming market launched on 13 July with nearly 50 registered operators, according to provincial regulators. Operators must also sign commercial agreements with the Alberta iGaming Corporation before going live; the province requires RG Check accreditation and centralised self-exclusion from launch.

Registration and player-protection requirements set the conditions for operators entering Alberta’s new market.

End-of-day close DraftKings (DKNG), USD, to 26 August 2026
Story date28 May 202626 August 2026

Earlier licence decisions by Alberta iGaming Corporation and AGLC

DateCompanyAmountStoryAppeal status
DraftKings, Golden Nugget Online GamingNot statedDraftKings plans Alberta sportsbook and casino launch on 13 JulyNot stated
CoolbetNot statedCoolbet plans Alberta exit ahead of regulated iGaming launchNot stated
FanDuel, DraftKingsNot statedAlberta launches regulated online gambling market on 13 JulyNot stated
AltenarNot statedAGLC approves Altenar to supply sports betting technology in AlbertaNot stated
GiGNot statedAGLC grants GiG technology licence for AlbertaNot stated

Connections

Request a correction

Keep reading