SectorWire
SearchGet the daily briefing
Menu

New Zealand advances 11 companies in online casino licensing auction

Licences & markets

New Zealand’s Department of Internal Affairs said 11 companies advanced through an auction for online casino licensing rights ahead of a planned 2027 market launch. The 32 bidders completed 10 rounds, with successful applicants collectively bidding NZ$15 million for 15 rights; each covers one brand for three years, with a possible five-year renewal. Successful bidders must still complete applications and due diligence, while operators that did not qualify must cease operations by 1 December 2026.

The auction outcome identifies prospective entrants, while non-qualifying operators face a stated deadline to stop operating.

End-of-day close SkyCity (SKC), NZD, to 6 November 2026
Story date31 August 20266 November 2026

Earlier licence decisions by Department of Internal Affairs

DateCompanyAmountStoryAppeal status
GLINot statedGLI says New Zealand authorises it to test online casinosNot stated
EntainNot statedEntain launches BlackRush Casino ahead of New Zealand’s regulated marketNot stated
Not namedNot statedNew Zealand opens online gaming licence expressions of interestNot stated
EntainNot statedNew Zealand sets online casino ad rules without an advertising-volume capNot stated
Not namedNot statedNew Zealand DIA opens first stage for 15 online casino licencesNot stated

Connections

Request a correction

Keep reading